Henryk Wieniawski  
Henryk Wieniawski
Henryk Wieniawski, Henryk also spelled Henri (born July 10, 1835, Lublin, Pol., Russian Empire [now in Poland]—died March 31, 1880, Moscow, Russia), Polish violinist and composer, one of the most celebrated violinists of the 19th century.

Wieniawski was a child prodigy who entered the Paris Conservatory at age 8 and graduated from there with the first prize in violin at the unprecedented age of 11. He became a concert violinist at age 13 and began touring Europe with his brother Joseph, a pianist. His wide-ranging concert tours brought him international fame. In 1860 he was appointed violin soloist to the tsar of Russia, and from 1862 to 1869 he taught at the St. Petersburg Conservatory. In 1872–74 he toured the United States, playing with the pianist Anton Rubinstein, and he subsequently taught for a time at the Brussels Conservatory.

As a violinist Wieniawski was admired for his rich, warm tone, glowing temperament, and perfect technique. His own compositions for violin are Romantic in style and were intended to display his virtuosity. He composed two violin concerti, one in F-sharp Minor (Opus 14) and a quite popular one in D Minor (Opus 22). His other compositions include Le Carnaval russe (Opus 11), Legende (Opus 17), Scherzo-tarantelle (Opus 16), and études, mazurkas, and polonaises.

Encyclopędia Britannica
Henryk Wieniawski - Polonaise de Concert in D major No. 1, Op. 4
Polish Nationwide Music Schools' Symphonic Orchestras Competition.
Bukowski School of Music Symphony Orchestra, Wrocław (Wroclaw, Breslau, Vratislavia) Poland
Aleksandra Juszczak - violin
Artur Wróbel - conductor
Ogólnopolski Konkurs Orkiestr Szkolnych Szkół Muzycznych II stopnia 2013,

Orkiestra Symfoniczna Państwowej Szkoły Muzycznej II stopnia im. Ryszarda Bukowskiego we Wrocławiu,
Henryk Wieniawski Polonez koncertowy D-dur op.4

Henryk Wieniawski Obertas in G Major Op. 19 No. 1, Vadim Brodski - violin, T. Chmielewski - piano
Henryk Wieniawski Polonez A-dur op. 21, Piotr Pławner - skrzypce, Andrzej Guz - fortepian
Piotr Pławner - violin
[1st Prize Winner at 10th International H. Wieniawski Violin Competition, 1991]
Andrzej Guz - piano
Wieniawski - Violin Concerto No. 1 In F sharp minor
Gil Shaham, violin - London Symphony Orchestra, Lawrence Foster conductor
Wieniawski-Violin Concerto No. 2 in d minor op. 22 (Complete)
Isaac Stern: violin-Philadelphia Orchestra-Eugene Ormandy: conductor-1957
Oistrakh plays Wieniawski Legende op.17
David Oistrakh-Violin
Vladimir Yampolsky-Piano
Maxim Vengerov - Wieniawski Variations Op. 15 (HD)
Ivry Gitlis Henryk Wieniawski "Capriccio-Valse E major", op.7
  Classical Music Timeline

Instruments Through the Ages

Classical Music History - Composers and Masterworks