Charles-Marie Widor  
Charles-Marie Widor
Charles-Marie Widor, in full Charles-marie-jean-albert Widor (born Feb. 21, 1844, Lyon, France—died March 12, 1937, Paris), French organist, composer, and teacher.
The son and grandson of organ builders, Widor began his studies under his father and at the age of 11 became organist at the secondary school of Lyon. After studies in organ and composition in Brussels, he returned to Lyon (1860) to succeed his father as organist at Saint-François, where he remained for a decade. In 1870 the post of organist at Saint-Sulpice in Paris became vacant, and Widor was given the appointment for a year; he left it in 1934. He taught at the Conservatory in Paris, succeeding César Franck as professor of organ in 1890 and Théodore Dubois as professor of composition in 1896.

Among Widor’s students at the Paris Conservatory were many of the most distinguished European organists active around the turn of the century, including Louis Vierne and Marcel Dupré. Albert Schweitzer studied organ under him, and Arthur Honegger and Darius Milhaud studied composition.

As a composer Widor is best remembered for his 10 symphonies for organ, although he also wrote two operas, a sizable body of ballet music, and various other vocal and orchestral works. Individual movements from many of his organ symphonies have become standard elements in recital repertory, most notably the “Toccata” from the Fifth. With Schweitzer, he edited the first five volumes of a definitive collection of J.S. Bach’s works for organ.

Encyclopædia Britannica
Charles-Marie Widor - Symphony No. 2 for Orchestra (1882)
Symphony No. 2 in A Major, Op. 54 (1882)

Performed by the Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, conducted by Peer Stol

Symphonie V - Charles Marie Widor.
I Allegro Vivace.
II Allegro cantabile.
III Andantino Quasi Allegreto.
IV Adagio.
V Toccata.
Charles Marie Widor - Organ Symphony No. 6 (1879)
Symphony No. 6 Op. 42, No. 2 (1879)

1. Allegro
2. Adagio
3. Intermezzo: Allegro
4. Cantabile
5. Finale: Vivace

Ben van Oosten, organ
Cavaillè-Coll-Organ, Saint-Quen, Rouen

Charles-Marie Widor: Symphonie Gothique No. 9
Symphony Gothique No. 9 in c minor, Op. 70
Widor - Piano Concerto No. 1 In F Minor
Martin Roscoe, piano - BBC Concert Orchestra, Martin Yates conductor
I. Allegro con fuoco
2. Andante religioso 11:50
3. Finale: Allegro 20:54
Widor - Piano Concerto No. 2 In C Minor
Martin Roscoe, piano - BBC Concert Orchestra, Martin Yates conductor
  Classical Music Timeline

Instruments Through the Ages

Classical Music History - Composers and Masterworks