Ignace Joseph Pleyel  
Ignace Joseph Pleyel

Ignace Joseph Pleyel
Ignace Joseph Pleyel, also spelled Ignaz Josef Pleyel (born June 18, 1757, Ruppersthal, Austria—died Nov. 14, 1831, Paris, France), Austro-French composer, music publisher, and piano builder.
Trained in music while still a very young child, he was sent in 1772 to Eisenstadt to become a pupil and lodger of Joseph Haydn’s. Pleyel later claimed a close, warm relationship had existed between them, and there is evidence of the master’s esteem for his student’s compositional talents in the overture (or at least the first two movements) of Haydn’s puppet opera Das abgebrannte Haus (1776?), now generally accepted as being Pleyel’s work. His first position was probably as Kapellmeister to Count Erdödy at Pressburg, to whom he gratefully dedicated his string quartets, Opus 1 (1782–83). By 1784 Pleyel had become an assistant Kapellmeister at Strasbourg Cathedral, succeeding as principal Kapellmeister when his predecessor died in 1789. In 1786 he also organized and conducted a series of public concerts, which provided him with additional opportunities to popularize his compositions.

The Strasbourg period was his most musically productive, and most of his compositions date from the years 1787–95. Many of his works were widely known in Europe and North America. Because of the interruptions to religious and musical life caused by the French Revolution, Pleyel left Strasbourg in 1791 for London, where his concerts were also well-attended and his compositions—especially the symphonies concertantes and quartets—received high praise from the critics. Early in 1795 Pleyel settled in Paris, where he opened a music shop and founded a publishing house; it issued about 4,000 works during the 39 years it existed, including many by Luigi Boccherini, Ludwig van Beethoven, Muzio Clementi, Jan Ladislav Dussek, and Haydn. Pleyel published the first miniature scores, beginning with Haydn’s string quartets and symphonies. Though Pleyel attempted to divest himself of the entire business in 1813, the Maison Pleyel continued until 1834, when it ceased publishing completely, selling its stocks of plates and printed works to various Paris music publishers.

The piano-manufacturing company Pleyel had founded in Paris in 1807 continued to prosper. In 1815 Pleyel’s eldest son, Camille (1788–1855), became a legal partner of the firm, which then adopted the name “Ignace Pleyel et fils aîné.” Recognized as a fine and sensitive pianist as well as an able administrator, Camille was a close friend of Frédéric Chopin, who made his Paris debut and also gave his final Paris concert in the Salle Pleyel. (Chopin later owned a Pleyel grand piano constructed in 1839.)

In 1855 Camille died and was succeeded by his son-in-law, Auguste Wolff (1821–87), the firm becoming Pleyel, Wolff & Cie. After Wolff’s death, his son-in-law Gustave Lyon (1857–1936) assumed control of the company, which he renamed Pleyel, Lyon et Cie, best known for the development of a chromatic harp at the end of the 19th century.

Encyclopædia Britannica

Ignaz Pleyel Clarinet Concerto Movement 3
Ignaz Pleyel Clarinet Concerto Movement 3 conducted by Maestro Robert W. Butts, Dan Sagi, clarinet, The Baroque Orchestra of New Jersey, 2008 Summer Festival of Baroque Music, the College of St Elizabeth
Ignaz Pleyel - Symphony in G major (Benton 130)
Sinfonia Finlandia Jyväskylä. Patrick Gallois, conductor.
Ignaz Pleyel - Symphony in G major (Benton 130)
I. Allegro assai
II. Andante
III. Minuetto: Allegretto
IV. Rondo: Presto
Ignaz Pleyel - Symphony in B flat major (Benton 125)
Sinfonia Finlandia Jyväskylä. Patrick Gallois, conductor.
Ignaz Pleyel - Symphony in B flat major (Benton 125)
I. Allegro assai
II. Andantino un poco allegro
III. Minuetto
IV. Finale: Allegro
Ignaz Joseph Pleyel Sinfonia Concertante No.5 in F major, SCO B.Warchal
Ignaz Joseph Pleyel Sinfonia Concertante No.5 in F major, SCO B.Warchal

1. Allegro con brio
2. Tempo di minuetto grazioso (attaca)
3. Presto

Ignaz Pleyel - Flute Concerto in C major (Benton 106)
Sinfonia Finlandia Jyväskylä. Patrick Gallois, conductor and flute.
Ignaz Pleyel - Flute Concerto in C major (Benton 106)
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Rondo: Allegro molto
Ignace Joseph Pleyel - Symphony in C-major, Op.66 (1803)
Symphony in C-major, Op.66 (1803, published by André of Offenbach in 1829) scored for strings, single flute, 2 oboes, bassoons, horns, trumpets and timpani.

Mov.I: Adagio -- Allegro 00:00
Mov.II: Adagio 10:19
Mov.III: Menuetto e Trio. Allegretto 14:43
Mov.IV: Tempo giusto 18:12

Orchestra: London Mozart Players

Conductor: Matthias Bambert

Ignaz Pleyel - Piano Works
Masha Dimitrieva, fortepiano

performed on authentic 1831 Pleyel piano
(period instrument!)

Sappho and Phaon - Jacques-Louis David (1809)

Rondo Favorit in Eb major, Ben 613 - [0:00]

Sonatina in Eb major, Ben 579
I. Andante - [3:23]
II. Allegro - [5:01]

Sonatina in D major, Ben 578
I. Allegro - [7:46]
II. Andante - [9:50]
III. Rondo Allegro - [10:43]

Sonata in G major, Ben 572
I. Allegro assai - [12:30]
II. Rondo - [18:36]

Sonata in Bb major, Ben 571
I. Allegro - [22:23]
II. Adagio - [27:26]
III. Finale - [32:25]

Sonata in D major, Ben 436
I. Allegro - [34:31]
II. Allegro molto - [43:12]

Andante from Sonatina in Bb major, Ben 577 - [48:06]

Rondo Favorit in A major, Ben 114 - [50:29]

Pleyel - Piano Concerto in D major, Ben 103A
Violin Concerto in D major
Version for Piano & Orchestra , Ben 103A
Allegro - Cantabile adagio - Rondo:allegro
Ignaz Joseph Pleyel - Konzert für Violine und Orchester D-Dur
Claronicum - Symphonic Band Project 2011
Solistin: Maria Patera
Leitung: Leo Wittner
Violine: Maria Patera, Bernadette Millett, Esther Niklas, Karoline Wittner, Magdalena Niklas
Viola: Christine Freysmuth
Violoncello: Anna Wittner
Kontrabass: Michael Pistelok, Manuela Roadl, Klaus Hackl
Klarinette: Barbara Bogner, Franz Auer, Karoline Pistelok, Franz Malicek, Lisa Marie Auer, Lucas Stadtmann, Sabine Winkelbauer, Günther Ball
Es Alt Klarinette: Barbara Hebenstreit
Bass Klarinette: Martina Harold, Michaela Grammel
Kontrabass Klarinette:Marina Wittner
Flöte: Ursula Wachter, Irene Brauneder, Steffi Mölle
Oboe: Eva Prunner; Doris Höllerl
Fagott: Stephanie Radon, Christina Stranz
Horn: Manfred Winkelbauer, Felix Kohlert
Trompete: Helmut Zsaitsits, Christoph Sprinzl, Johannes Dorfmeister, Isabella Drechsler
Posaune: Christoph Schodl, Julia Gausterer, Michael Piribauer
Tuba: Stefan Bachner
Harfe: Marie Theres Fehringer
Pauken: Nina Habison
Schlagzeug: Bernhard Winkler
  Classical Music Timeline

Instruments Through the Ages

Classical Music History - Composers and Masterworks