Giovanni Legrenzi  
Giovanni Legrenzi
Giovanni Legrenzi, (baptized Aug. 12, 1626, Clusone, near Bergamo, Republic of Venice [Italy]—died May 27, 1690, Venice), Italian composer, one of the greatest of the Venetian Baroque. His trio sonatas are among the best chamber music of the period before Arcangelo Corelli.

Little is known about Legrenzi’s early years. He studied with his father, a violinist and minor composer, and he was ordained as a priest in 1651. After serving as organist and chaplain at the Santa Maria Maggiore Church in Bergamo, he was maestro di cappella at the Academy of the Holy Spirit in Ferrara from 1656 to 1665. His first opera, Nino il giusto (1662; “Nino the Just”), dates from this period. In 1681 he obtained the post of second maestro di cappella at the San Marco Basilica in Venice, succeeding to maestro di cappella in 1685. He enlarged the orchestra at San Marco’s and completely reorganized the music.

During his lifetime Legrenzi composed some 19 operas, in addition to sonatas, masses, motets, oratorios, and other pieces. At the time of his death, he had attained an international reputation. Legrenzi’s music is characteristic of the final stage of the late Baroque style. He was equally adept at the composition of sacred music, opera, and chamber music. His compositions for the church attest to the advances he made in polyphonic writing. His most forward-looking works, particularly in the handling of structure, are his instrumental sonatas; they exerted a strong influence on the works of Domenico Scarlatti, Antonio Vivaldi, and J.S. Bach. Themes from Legrenzi’s compositions were used by Bach in his Fugue in C Minor for organ and by G.F. Handel in a chorus from his oratorio Samson.

Encyclopædia Britannica

Giovanni Legrenzi - Sonata La Pia
Giovanni Legrenzi  - Dies Irae
1. Sonata sesta a quattro viole da gamba 0:00
Adagio assai - (Allegro) - Adagio - Allegro - Adagio

Prosa pro mortuis (Dies Irae)
2. Dies Irae 06:11
- 8 voix, violes, BC
3. Quantus tremor 07:05
4. Tuba mirum 08:18
- 8 viox, violes, BC
5. Mors stupebit 09:21
- S, violes, BC
6. Liber scriptus 10:11
- 8 voix, violes, BC
7. Judex ergo 11:09
- AA, BC
8. Quid sum miser 12:21
9. Rex tremendae 13:41
- B, violes, BC
10. Recordare 14:50
- 8 voix, violes, BC
11. Quarens me 15:36
- SS, BC
12. Juste judex 16:53
- 8 voix, violes, BC
13. Ingemisco 17:31
- SSATTB, violes, BC
14. Qui Mariam 20:25
- 8 voix, violes, BC
15. Preces meae 21:05
16. Inter oves 21:56
- 8 voix, violes, BC
17. Confutatis 22:38
18. Oro suplex 23:36
- A, violes, BC
19. Lacrimosa 26:25
- 8 voix, violes, BC
20. Pie Jesu - Amen 27:43
- 8 voix, violes, BC

21. Ricercar del secondo tono by Alessandro POGLIETTI(? - 1683) 29:11
- orgue
22. Angelorum ad convivia 35:18
- soprano, BC
23. Sonata quinta a quattro viole da gamba 41:53
(Adagio) - Adagio - Presto - Presto - Adagio - (Allegro)
24. Suspiro Domine 47:03
- basse, violes, BC


Susan HAMILTON, Monika MAUCH, sopranos
Carlos MENA, Marnix DE CAT, contre-ténors
Hervé LAMY, Stephan VAN DYCK, ténors

Philippe PIERLOT, dessus et basse de viole
Kaori UEMURA, viole alto
Sophie WATILLON, Emmanuel BALSSA, basses de viole
Francis JACOB, orgue
Kenneth WEISS*, orgue
Pascal MONTEILHET, théorbe

Direction : Philippe PIERLOT

Giovanni Legrenzi - O mirandum mysterium
O mirandum mysterium

O mirandum mysterium!
Nascitur in stabulo rex
servus quem genetrix adorat.
Suspirando, lachrimando,
poenas infans mundi plorat.
Virgo mater benedicta tota tristis,
et afflicta luctus parvuli complorat.
Signat osculo chari Christi
pura labia et fascibus involuto
quem vinculo servitutis
frangit quietissime canit.
Dormite pupillae, clarissimae stellae,
beatae facellae, dormite tranquillae.
Sopite, gaudete, sanctissimae luces,
tutissimae Duces, nos caelum docete.

O wondrous mystery!
The servant king whom his creatress adores
is born in a stable.
Sighing and crying,
the infant bewails the pain of the world.
His blessed virgin mother, totally sad
and afflicted, laments the sorrow of her little one.
She seals the pure lips of her dear Christ with a kiss,
and quietly sings to the child
wrapped in a bundle whom the bonds
of servitude subdue.
Sleep, eyes, brightest stars,
blessed little torches, sleep, tranquil [eyes].
Lie calm, rejoice, holiest lights,
safest of leaders, show us heaven.


Giovanni Legrenzi  - "O Vos"
Olga Nazaykinskaya - soprano
Alexander Konstantinov, Olga Zhukova - violins
Alexander Sheskin - cello
Natalia Azarkina - viola da gamba, Tatiana Andrianova - organ
Performed in Moscow on 15 April 2011
Giovanni Legrenzi - Sub Citharis Plaudite
Alex Potter - Countertenor
Concert performance, Liestal (Switzerland), October 2010
"Che Fiero Costume" by Giovanni Legrenzi
Giovanni Legrenzi "Lumi, potete piangere" - Nuria Rial, Philippe Jaroussky
Giovanni Legrenzi, Sonata 'La Manina'
Ensemble L'aura Soave - Cremona

Nicholas Robinson e Claudia COmbs, violini
Sergio Azzolini, fagotto
Davide Pozzi, clavicembalo
Diego Cantalupi, liuto

26 gennaio 2011

Giovanni Legrenzi  - Sonata V a 4 viole da gamba ò come piace
Giorgio Fava, violino
Roberto Falcone, violino
Bozzai Balasz, violino
Luca Ronconi, violino & viola
Judit Földes, viola
Walter Vestidello, violoncello
Giancarlo Pavan, violone
Giancarlo Rado, arciliuto & chitarra
Gianpietro Rosato, organo & cembalo
Giovanni Legrenzi - Sonata terza à 4. J. M. W. Turner
Sonata terza à 4 (2 violini, alto & viola da brazzo).
The Rare Fruits Council.
Manfredo Kraemer.
Imágenes: Joseph Mallord William Turner.
Ensemble baroque de Nice
Direction Gilbert BEZZINA
Legrenzi - Sonata Quinta a quattro 'La Cetra'
Movements: Adagio - Presto - Presto - Adagio - Presto

Concerto di Viole
Brian Franklin, dessus de viole
Friederike Heumann, viole de gamba alto
Brigitte Gasser, basse de viole
Arno Jochem de la Rosee, violine

Basel Consort
Karl-Ernst Schröder, luth
Markus Märkl, clavecin

Legrenzi : Magnificat, dai Vespri op. 1