Jan Ladislav Dussek  
Jan Ladislav Dussek

Jan Ladislav Dussek
Jan Ladislav Dussek, Dussek also spelled Dušek or Dusik (born Feb. 12, 1760, Čáslav, Bohemia [now in Czech Republic]—died March 20, 1812, St. Germain-en-Laye, France), Bohemian pianist and composer, best known for his piano and chamber music.

The son of a cathedral organist, Dussek studied music with his father and showed great skill as a pianist and organist at an early age. He sang in the choir at Iglau (Jihlava) and later studied theology at Prague. After working as an organist, in about 1779 or 1780 he began to perform as a virtuoso pianist, most notably in the Netherlands, where he attained a great reputation and wrote a large number of “accompanied sonatas” for pianoforte and strings. In Hamburg in 1782 he studied under C.P.E. Bach. He subsequently toured as a pianist, performing in St. Petersburg, Berlin, Paris, and Italy. He made a successful debut in 1789 in London, where he established a music shop and gave many concerts, prompting the visiting Joseph Haydn to write about him in glowing terms. When his business failed in 1799 Dussek fled from England to escape his creditors (his wife and her family were not so fortunate). He subsequently stayed in Hamburg and Berlin (as kapellmeister), appeared in concerts in Čáslav and Prague, and lived in the household of Charles-Maurice de Talleyrand in Paris from about 1807 until his death.

Jan Ladislav Dussek

As a pianist Dussek possessed great dexterity and could elicit a singing tone that was much praised by his contemporaries. He is said to have been the first pianist to place his piano sideways on the platform, so that the public could see a profile view of the performer (an innovation often credited to Franz Liszt). Dussek’s own musical compositions include a considerable number of pianoforte sonatas and concerti and numerous chamber works for piano and strings. His piano sonatas represent him at his best, and, though his works are largely forgotten, he influenced the growth of piano technique, both as pianist and as composer.

Encyclopćdia Britannica


Jan Ladislav Dussek by Henri-Pierre Danloux

Jan Ladislav Dussek - Piano Concertos - Andreas Staier
Jan Ladislav Dussek - Piano Concerto in G-minor, Op.49 (1801)
Piano Concerto in G-minor, Op.49 (1801) (Craw WVZ 187)

Mov.I: Allegro 00:00
Mov.II: Adagio 15:15
Mov.III: Rondo: Allegro non troppo 23:01

Pianist: Andreas Staier

Orchestra: Concerto Köln

Jan Ladislav Dussek La Consolation op 62 Vesselinova Piano
Jan Ladislav Dusík - Piano sonata in F minor, Op.77 "L'invocation"
Klavírní sonáta f moll, Op.77 "L'invocation"

00:00 Allegro moderato ma energico
10:29 Tempo di minuetto con moto
15:33 Adagio non troppo ma solenne
22:44 Rondo. Allegro moderato

Hanuš Bartoň (piano)

Jan Ladislav Dussek - Grande Rondo - Allegro moderato
Jan Ladislav Dusík - Concerto for two pianos and orchestra, Op.63
Koncert pro dva klavíry a orchestr B dur, Op.63

00:00 Allegro moderato
15:21 Larghetto sostenuto
24:51 Allegro moderato

František Maxián, Jan Panenka (pianos), Czech philharmonic orchestra, Sir John Barbirolli

Jan Ladislav Dusík - Piano quintet in F minor, Op.41
Klavírní kvintet f moll, Op.41

00:00 Allegro moderato ma con fuoco
11:58 Adagio espressivo
17:26 Allegretto ma espressivo e moderato

Hanuš Bartoň (klavír), Václav Hoskovec (kontrabas), Kvarteto Apollon

Jan Ladislav Dussek - Harp Concerto in E flat major, Op. 15
Vittorio Parisi, conductor
Mantova Orchestra
Roberta Alessandrini, harp

Jan Ladislav Dussek - Harp Concerto in E flat major, Op. 15
I. Allegro
II. Larghetto teneramente
III. Rondo: Allegro molto

Jan Ladislav Dussek - A favourite sonata No.1 in E-flat major for harp, Op.34
Mov.I: Allegro 00:00
Mov.II: Andante quasi Allegretto 06:10
Mov.III: Rondo: Allegretto 08:35

Danielle Perrett, single-action harp
James Ellis, violin
Helen Verney, violoncello

Jan Ladislav Dussek - Duo for harp & piano in E-flat major, Op.38
Ian Ladislav Dussek - Sonata No. 18, "The Farewell"
J. L. Dussek Sonata in F sharp minor (Elegie Harmonique) Op. 61. Lento patetico. Tempo agitato
Ignacio Marín Bocanegra plays J. L. Dussek (1760-1812) Sonata in F sharp minor, Op. 61 (Élégie Harmonique) (1806). Lento patetico. Tempo agitato, non presto. Live recital
  Classical Music Timeline

Instruments Through the Ages

Classical Music History - Composers and Masterworks