Ernest Chausson  
Ernest Chausson
Ernest Chausson, in full Amédée-Ernest Chausson (born Jan. 21, 1855, Paris, France—died June 10, 1899, Limay), composer whose small body of compositions has given him high rank among French composers of the late 19th century.

After obtaining a doctorate degree in law, Chausson entered the Paris Conservatory in 1879 for a course of study with Jules Massenet and César Franck. At this time he also began visiting Munich and Bayreuth, where he saw Richard Wagner’s operas Der fliegende Holländer (1843; The Flying Dutchman), Tristan und Isolde (1865), and in 1882, the premiere of Parsifal. These encounters with the works of Wagner greatly expanded his musical universe, until then confined largely to French operatic and sacred styles.


For the remainder of his life Chausson quietly cultivated his art as a composer, supported by a modest inheritance. Determined to counter any imputations of amateurism, he laboured persistently over his scores and presided over a salon where professional musicians of many sorts could be found, including the young composers Claude Debussy and Isaac Albéniz, pianist Alfred-Denis Cortot, and violinist Eugène Ysaÿe. Eager to promote French music, he served for several years as secretary of the Société Nationale de Musique, while also offering enthusiastic support to younger French composers.

As a true member of the Franck circle, Chausson cultivated a style that became dramatic and richly chromatic, while also maintaining a certain reserve that was an enduring feature of French taste. This can be seen in his large-scale productions, such as the Poème de l’amour et de la mer for solo voice and orchestra (1882–90; revised 1893), the Poème for solo violin and orchestra (1896), and his Symphony in B-flat Major (1889–90). For his opera Le Roi Arthus (1895; first performed 1903), Chausson, in Wagnerian fashion, composed his own libretto and incorporated a system of leit-motifs.

Encyclopædia Britannica


Chausson page-turning for Debussy, Luzancy, 1893
Ernest Chausson - Concert for Violin, Piano & Str. Quartet Op. 21
(Perlman, Bolet, Julliard Quartet)
Concerto for Violin, Piano & String Quartet Op. 21 (1891)
in D Major / D-Dur / en ré majeur

1. Décidé
2. Sicilienne
3. Grave
4. Très animé

Itzhak Perlman, Violin
Jorge Bolet, Piano
Julliard Quartet (Robert Mann, Earl Carlyss, Violins, Samuel Rhodes, Viola, Joel Krosnick, Cello)

(Anna Asieieva - Violin, Indira Rahmatulla - Cello, Lidia Nochovska - Piano)

1:12 - I mov. - Pas trop lent
11:54 - II mov. - Vite
16:23 - III mov. - Assez lent
25:05 - IV mov. - Anime
Preformed at the 27 of april 2012 in AUDITORIO SONY, MADRID / ESPAÑA

Chausson - Symphony in B-flat
Dallas Symphony Orchestra, Eduardo Mata conductor
Ernest Chausson - La Légende De Sainte Cécile Et La Tempête
DILIJAN CHAMBER MUSIC SERIES Chausson - Chanson Perpetuelle for soprano and piano quintet
Dilijan Chamber Music Series

Shoushik Barsoumian-soprano
Varty Manouelian-violin
Aroussiak Baltaian-violin
Carrie Dennis-viola
Peter Stumpf-cello
Stephen Manes-piano

Chausson Poeme, Vadim Repin
Chausson Poeme
Vadim Repin, Violin
Israel Philharmonic Orchestra
Zubin Mehta, conductor
Ernest Chausson - Piano Quartet in A, Op. 30 (1897)
Piano Quartet in A, Op. 30 (1897)

I. Animé [0:00]
II. Très calme [11:58]
III. Simple et sans hâte [22:02]
IV. Animé [25:47]

A work for piano and string trio by French composer Ernest Chausson (1855-1899), composed just two years before his untimely death at the age of 44. Initially a follower of Massenet and later an ardent Wagnerite and Franckian, Chausson eventually developed his own sumptuous late Romantic style, which influenced in turn such composers as Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré and Guy Ropartz.

Les Musiciens: Régis Pasquier (violin), Bruno Pasquier (viola), Roland Pidoux (cello), Jean-Claude Pennetier (piano)

  Classical Music Timeline

Instruments Through the Ages

Classical Music History - Composers and Masterworks